How to update contacts based on a matching field?

Version 1

Long story short the company I work for is using Goldmine and is looking for a way to update 400 or so "existing contacts.  WE have a matching field. We want to pull data into a specific field." The data to be imported resides in a excel file.

They fired the person who was basically in charge of this and as the guy with "Foxpro" and "Excel" experience I was tasked with finding a solution. I have little experience with SQL but am getting more familiar with Query's, so any help is appreciated.

Thanks!

There are long and short answers to your question.

For starters, what is the "matching field" you have in GoldMine?  That will determine a lot as to how much of a long vs. short answer you may get.

(I'm short on time, so simply cannot elaborate further at the moment.)

From my co-worker: "D-QBACCTNUM is the field that currently matches the QB Account Number field."

Sorry for the run around, but that simply doesn't help me.  That's not an "out of the box" field name that I recognize.  So, it could potentially be one of several places.

What I need to know is whether that's in a CUSTOM field (e.g. name starts with U and resides in the CONTACT2 table) or whether it's possibly one of the KEY fields, that reside in CONTACT1 (e.g. KEY1, KEY2, etc.).

The reality here is what determines whether it's a long or short answer to the original question.

It sounds like your D-QBACCTNUM field is a custom/user-defined field.  Here are some general steps to update existing contacts based on a matching field.

NOTE: It is highly recommended that a SQL backup be made of your GoldMine database before proceeding.  You are making broad changes to the database that can not be undone without a backup.

For this process, an Excel spreadsheet will need to be converted and saved as a .csv file with the file name being no more than 9 characters long.